Skip to main content

HIST11A: Across the Pacific: East Asia in Global Perspective (Hu): Home

History 92: Modern East Asia

     

  One Child Policy (Venus, Flicker); Chineseposters.net (Flicker);  Elisa Elena Vasquez Marti (Flicker); Magic Lantern Peep Show by J. Thomson 1877

News Sources

          

For your news research project you first need to search for news articles on China, Korea, Japan, or another East Asian or Southeast Asian country.  The articles can come from any mainstream media around the world (in English) from 2010 and 2016. After exploring articles on a topic of your choice, you need to select one that is particularly relevant and interesting.   Below are some newspapers and magazines  you can use.  Some sources are from East Asian and Southeast Asian countries; others are American sources or sources from other countries around the world.  Many of the links provide  access to the back files of newspapers/magazines, so that you can look at articles on a specific topic over time.   When you go to the web site of a publication, you can usually access only the current issue.

Chinese News Sources (in English)

China Daily (Beijing, China)

Xinhua News Agency

China Today (North American edition)

Japanese Newspapers and Magazines

Japan News (Tokyo, Japan)

Yomiuri Shimbun  (English version)

Korean News Sources (in English)

Korea Times (Seoul, Korea);   Web site for current issue only

The Korea Herald (current issue only)

Thailand News Sources:

The Bangkok Post

Cambodian News Sources

Phnom Penh Daily

News Sources from Around the World

To find articles in newspapers from other countries, use the following databases:

Access World News
This database includes articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international newspapers.  Coverage can go back as far as 1977. You can limit your search to sources from a specific country.

Infotrac Newstand

This database provides access to thousand of news sources from around the world.  You can limit your search by date, language, specific title, etc. 

American Sources

New York Times (via the Lexis Nexis database)

San Francisco Chronicle  (via Access World News database)

Reader's Guide Full-Text
This database provides access to the full text of 150 magazines (mostly American) dating back to 1994.

 

 

 

News Research Project

After you choose your news article, we will conduct a deeper exploration of the issue highlighted in the article.  You will look at the historical context of the issue; you will locate books, scholarly articles, and primary sources that can help you understand the issue and discuss its historical development and significance.  This guide will help you locate good resources for your project. 

Use the tabs above to learn how to find various types of resources and how to prepare your annotated bibliography.

Library Instruction Worksheet

LIBRARY INSTRUCTION WORKSHEET

You will complete this worksheet during the library instruction session.

Make sure to click on the box to get a copy of your answer.

Need More Help?

If you need more help, don't hesitate to contact me:

Helene Lafrance
Reference Librarian
hlafrance@scu.edu
408-551-1740