This is the "Home" page of the "BIOL 18: Exploring Biotechnology / Fall 2011" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIOL 18: Exploring Biotechnology / Fall 2011  

Biotechnology and its underlying science
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2011 URL: http://libguides.scu.edu/biotechnologyfall2011 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Exploring Biotechnology Home

 

BIOL 18: Exploring Biotechnology

Petrie dishes

 

EXPLORING contemporary biotechnology and the science that underlies it: how DNA, genes, and cells work.

Image Credit: USDA ARS

 

Suggestions for Exploring Fall 2011 Topics

 

Health/Medical topics
PubMed is the premier database for scholarly articles on biomedical research. Review articles link (upper right) on Results page offers overview articles. To search specific aspects of diseases, try a PubMed MeSH search: at Databases tab, scroll down to PubMed Quick Guide. Check MedlinePlus and CDC for articles and explanations in lay terms.

* Diagnostic tests for infectious diseases, genetic diseases, medical conditions: In PubMed, Science Citation, or either of the interdisciplinary databases, type name of disease or condition into searchbox AND diagnostic (second searchbox all but PubMed). Choose KYWD or Topic from dropdown menu. Use Limits link to limit date, etc.

* Agricultural issues: in addition to interdisciplinary databases such as OmniFile and Academic Source Complete, try Agricola.

* Biofuels: an entire research guide devoted to biofuels.

* Cloning. Narrow your subject to, say, a species; e.g., sheep, etc.

* Tissue Engineering. Narrow your subject; e.g., joint replacement or heart. To find PubMed articles on, say, joint replacement, paste the following into the PubMed searchbox: "Tissue Engineering"[Majr] AND joint replacement   Check the Reviews link, upper right.   

* Spider silk. Go to database Science Citation Index Expanded. Choose "All databases" tab to search both Science Citation and Biological Abstracts. Also try OmniFile and Academic Search Complete databases. For background on spiders and their silk: in OSCAR (catalog), type spider and choose as Subject from dropdown menu.

* Stem Cells: see NIH Stem Cell Information website for information and resources to narrow and inform your topic.

* Global Warming: narrow subject. See Climate Change library guide for resources.

* Addiction vaccine story in New York Times

* Smart Contact Lens: check American Health Assistance Foundation's National Glaucoma Research news site.

* Diabetes: check PubMed Health and the American Diabetes Association.

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Michal Strutin
mstrutin@scu.edu

Contact Info
mstrutin@scu.edu
408.551.7021
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip