This is the "Home" page of the "Byzantine Art and Civilization" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Byzantine Art and Civilization  

A guide to major sources of information for researching Byzantine art and civilization
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scu.edu/byzantineart Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian

 

Encyclopedias, etc.

BYZANTINE ART

&

CIVILIZATION

 

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS OF ART AND HISTORY

 

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium 
This 3-volume encyclopedia covering all fields of Byzantine studies is essential. Its articles on Byzantine history and culture will give you a better understanding of the art by explaining the cultural background to which it belongs. The articles are short, written by experts, and contain brief, but critical, bibliographies.  It is also available online.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages 
Don't let the word "dictionary" in the title fool you. This multivolume set is really an encyclopedia. An authoritative and scholarly work, it will provide you with the historical background that is necessary to understand Byzantine art.

The Dictionary of Art
Despite its title, this multivolume reference work is really an encyclopedia. Monumental in scope, it is the largest and most comprehensive reference work on the visual arts that has ever been published. Don't start any research on art without checking this source. It is also available online in Oxford Art Online.

Encyclopedia of World Art
Although older than the encyclopedia above, this is still a useful and scholarly work. It is richly illustrated with thousands of color and black-and-white plates, which are all found together at the back of each volume.

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering, Construction
This set is comprised of scholarly articles and bibliographies on all aspects of architecture - style, design, construction, technology, economics, organizations, movements, and people.

Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
This is a handy one-volume encyclopedia on all aspects of Christian art and architecture of all time periods. Its short articles can help you greatly in understanding the religious traditions and subject matter that were prominent in Byzantine art. It is also available online.

Medieval Art: A Topical Dictionary
This reference work is a quick source for identifying and understanding the subjects, stories, symbols, and themes frequently represented in early Christian, western medieval, and Byzantine art.

Humanities Subject Specialist/Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Leanna Goodwater
Contact Info
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara CA 95053

(408) 554-5434

lgoodwater@scu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip