Research Guides: Sustainable Energy: Databases

Navigation

Library Databases for Sustainable Energy

In the "Databases" search box on the library home page find a database using the Alphabetical List (if you know the name of the database) OR with the pull-down menu (Browse by Subject)--choose a subject--to obtain a list of databases in your research area.

You can also access a page giving you the entire range of electronic resources available in the library at: Electronic Resources

Recommended databases for Renewable Energy are (mostly from the Engineering database list):

Applied Science & Technology Source

Provides full text for over 1,400 journals. Additionally provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of academic journals, professional publications, and other sources. Has comprehensive coverage for a variety of applied science and technology specialties such as applied mathematics, energy resources & research, biomedical materials, robotics, and other sci-tech applications.
ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)

Provides access to the full-text of the ASCE journals and conference proceedings to which the University subscribes. Searching is available within each publication.
Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)

The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) provides electronic searching for all of its publications. The CEDB provides access to over 170,000 records. Records that include abstracts go back to 1970, citation (with no abstracts) records go back to 1958, and book citations go back to the early 1900's. For direct access to the University's journal and proceedings subscriptions, use the ASCE Library.
Engineering Village

Provides access to over 17 million abstracts from Compendex (1884-present), approximately 14 million abstracts from Inspec (1896-present), and the full text of U.S. patents (1976 to present).
ENGnetBASE

Includes the full text of 2,300+ CRC Press engineering handbooks. You will need a PDF 1.6 compatible viewer (e.g, Adobe Reader) to access these files.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

This multidisciplinary database provides abstracts and references to the literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution, as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. 1981-present. Updated monthly.
GreenFILE

A multidisciplinary environmental database that includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on global warming, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, green building, and more. Mostly abstracts with some full text.
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)

Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Abstracts and full-text. Sources include newspapers, magazines, refereed journals, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.
IEEE Xplore

The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL) is IEEE's complete full-text product on its Xplore platform. It is an online collection of IEEE and IEE journals and conferences--plus the IEEE standards. These publications provide 30% of the world's electrical engineering and computer science literature in a single source. There is a full-text backfile for each title to 1988, with selected titles back to 1950.
Science Citation Index Expanded

Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. 1993-present. Updated weekly.
ScienceDirect

SCU receives 400+ ScienceDirect online journals from the publisher Elsevier. SCU's ScienceDirect journals are marked by green icons. Most are full-text. Dates covered: 1995-present. Elsevier journals focus on science, technology, medicine, and business, and include high impact-factor journals such as the Trends and Current Opinion series.