Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
- Citation GuidesGuides to proper citation using the common style manuals, such as APA, MLA, etc.
Primary vs Secondary Sources
Watch this video to ensure that you know the difference between primary and secondary sources. For YOUR purposes, your primary sources are books/articles written by your travel writer. Your secondary sources are book reviews of books written by your travel writer, scholarly journal articles about the work of your travel writer, or other analysis of the writing by your subject, written by someone other than your travel writer. If you're not clear on this, be sure to ask a librarian for help!
Criticism
CRITICAL ANALYSIS OF TRAVEL WRITERS' WORKS
The following databases are excellent sources for finding critical assessment of the works of travel writers. Articles and books that analyze the works of your travel writer are SECONDARY SOURCES!
- Gale Artemis Literary SourcesThis database is a major source for finding the full text online of critical assessments of an author's work. (Biographical information about the author, and sometimes book reviews, radio interviews, and essays written by the author can be found here, as well.) To find critical analyses of the works of a specific author, type the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Theroux, Paul) in the "Person" search, then click "Literature Criticism" on the left side of the screen.
- MLA International BibliographyThis database is the best place to look for your required scholarly articles! To find sources about a specific author, type the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Theroux, Paul) in the "Person - About" search box. Be sure to open the full record for each publication you are interested in, to see if its full text is available online within this database. If it is not, click on the "Find It @ SCU" link to see how it might be located elsewhere.
Watch the video below, by SCU Humanities Librarian Leanna Goodwater, to learn how to use the MLA International Bibliography database -- it's tricky!
Scholarly Articles on Travel Writing
If you're having trouble finding scholarly articles about the work of your travel writer, one or more of the articles below may provide a scholarly point of view that you may use to conduct a deep analysis on the work of your travel writer in your paper.
Another idea is to search MLA International bibliography for scholarly articles about travel literature written about the same place(s) your travel writer has written about.
Example: Your travel writer wrote about Egypt? Try this search:
("travel literature" OR "travel writing") AND egypt
Watch a demo of this search in the MLA International Bibliography. In the short (silent) video, I also show you how to request an article via ILLiad, our Interlibrary Loan service, if SCU doesn't have full text of an article you want. If you don't already have one, create your ILLiad account right now!
If none of these articles fit your needs, and you are having trouble locating scholarly articles for your research paper, email your librarian, Shannon Kealey!
Librarian for ENGL 175
What is a Scholarly Journal?
Just because you found an article in a library database, that doesn't necessarily mean that article is from a scholarly journal. Watch this video to learn what sets scholarly journals apart from magazines and newspapers.