What is a scholarly article?
Scholarly Articles
To find scholarly articles on your topic (secondary sources), try the following databases:
America: History and Life
Provides access to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, political science, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Be aware that the current issues (current 2 or 3 years) are not included.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text journals.
Greenr: Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Full texts and abstracts. Sources include refereed journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This multidisciplinary database provides abstracts and references to the literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution, as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. 1981-present. Updated monthly.
How to Search the Databases:
Just enter keywords describing your topic in the search boxes. . If you were interested in the role played by Theodore Roosevelt in the creation of the National Park system, you could do a search like this:
You can use synonyms or related terms to describe your topics. For example, gender or women..
You can also use an asterisk at the end of a word to retrieve various endings. For example, environment* would retrieve environmental, environment, environments.
When you look at your list of results in the database, If the full-text of an article is not readily available i, click on the FIND IT AT SCU icon to see if it's available in another database or in print in the library.
Articles for Modules 5 and 6
1. Richard Manning, "The Oil We Eat: Following the Food Chain Back to Iraq", Harpers Magazine, Feb. 2004
2. Paul Sutter, "The World with Us: The State of American Environmental History", Journal of American History, Vol. 100, issue 1, June 2013 [If you are off campus, you will need to enter your SCU Id and password to access this one]
3. Bora Chang, Part 1, "Why There's No Easy Solution to America's Food Deserts".
4. Bora Chang, Part 2, "How One Community is Changing its Food Landscapes Block By Block With Wholesome Wave".
5. Bora Chang, Part 3, "Voices From a Food Desert: Bayview-Hunters Point, San Francisco, CA"