Selected Books on Literary Criticism
Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new windowAccess all of the library's resources from the library home page.
- Interlibrary Loan & LINK+Find out more about requesting books and articles from other libraries.
- A-Z Database ListBrowse the complete list of databases available through the SCU Library by subject, type, or vendor.
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind books using the library's catalog, OSCAR.
- Find a Journal, Magazine or NewspaperHere is where you can find out if the SCU Library has a specific journal, magazine or newspaper
- Google ScholarLink to article's available through the SCU library and other sources.
Chat with a Librarian
24/7 Research Help is Available
Ice Breaker
Tell us a bit about yourself...
- Name
- What's your favorite book?
- What you like most about studying literature
Activity 1: Exploring Databases Exercise
Instructions:
Try searching in the database assigned to your group. Keep it simple; use recitatif and perhaps morrison as keywords.
With your group, answer the following questions. Pick a spokesperson and be prepared to report your findings to the class.
- How many results?
- Are they relevant?
- Are they scholarly/peer reviewed?
- Are there books/book chapters included in your results, or just articles?
- How do you think your set of results was determined by the focus of the database?
- What would you do to improve your set of results in future searches?
Group 1
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of literary criticism and reviews, biographies, original works of literature, multimedia resources, and links to selected web resources on authors and their works. Covers 130,000 authors from all times and places. Updated continually.
Group 2
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
Group 3
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
Group 4
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowIndex to monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world on English language and literature topics. 1920-present.
Activity 2: Articles for Summary of Recitatif Criticism Assignment
Instructions:
Use what you've learned so far to search a different database, the MLA International Bibliography. This is an individual activity that is meant to help you select an article or book chapter for your Summary of Recitatif Criticism assignment.
- Enter MLA International Bibliography
- Perform several searches and evaluate the results
- Pick an article that is very interesting to you
- Complete the worksheet to receive attendance credit for today's class
Link to worksheet for activity #2
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly research published in journal articles, books, articles in books, and dissertations in the fields of modern languages and their literatures, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes the full text of more than 1,000 journals in these fields. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. 1926 - present.
Undergraduate Learning Librarian
Undergraduate Learning Librarian