Quick Links
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind journals and magazines online and in print
- CaminoLink back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Science Images: SCU-Subscribed Databases
Images for the Sciences
SCU-SUBSCRIBED DATABASES
(Also see Web Resources below)
IMPORTANT: Use of images is subject to U.S. copyright law. If an image is copyrighted, you must ask permission--and often pay--to use it with an accompanying credit line. That's the law! If an image is in the public domain or is published with a Creative Commons license making it freely available to use, often it will say so and provide credit information.
If you are not sure if an image is public domain or Creative Commons, contact the person or entity responsible for the image and ask permission for one-time educational use with an accompanying credit line. For more on copyright, see U.S. Copyright Office FAQs.
SCU-subscribed databases can be used only on campus
or off-campus, by those with SCU Access cards.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database, and other EBSCO databases, does not have pure image searching. You can limit your search to articles that have accompanying images: scroll through Limiters on the database search screen to Image Quick View Types. Choose your preferences from the Image Types: color photographs, black-and-white photographs, maps, etc.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2.5 million high-quality digital images for educational and research use. In addition to reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, the collection also contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Updated continually.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowIn Advanced Search, limit results by Content Type > Images (video results are also an option). Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Full texts and abstracts. Sources include refereed journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA button at upper left of the ScienceDirect homepage allows you to choose an image search.
Science Images: Web Resources
Images for the Sciences
WEB RESOURCES
IMPORTANT: Use of images is subject to U.S. copyright law. If an image is copyrighted, you must ask permission--and often pay--to use it with an accompanying credit line. That's the law! If an image is in the public domain and thus freely available to use, often it will say so and provide credit information.
If you are not sure if an image is public domain, contact the person or entity responsible for the image and ask permission for one-time educational use with an accompanying credit line. For more on copyright, see U.S. Copyright Office FAQs.
- [The] Cell: an Image LibrarySearch the library by organism or by cell part (mitochondrion, nuclear envelope, chromosome, etc.) Each image comes with use information. From the American Society for Cell Biology.
- CELLS alive!Computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. Areas covered: cell biology, microbiology, immunology, microscopy. Includes videos. Credit images used from CELLS alive! Check use information.
- Centre for Bioscience ImageBank [CK URL MOVE]From UK institutions and individuals, these collections include microbiology, marine life, invertebrates, and much more. Images are free for educational purposes, but should be credited. Check use information
- Encyclopedia of LifeA partnership between the scientific community and the public, EOL is building a database with authoritative information for each of the Earth’s 1.8 million species. Most images are free to use, with credit. Check use information.
- Insect ImagesStarted by the University of Georgia, this image database can be searched by keyword or browse by insect, order, etc. Includes spiders and other associates. Most images are free to use, some have copyright restrictions. Each image comes with use information.
- NOAA Fisheries Images GalleryWhales, kelp forests, bizarre marine life, fisheries boats and people are part of this National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) browsable, searchable collection. See main-page links to other NOAA photo collections. Check use information.
- Plants Database Image GallerySearch by name, state, country, copyright status, and more. From U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Some images require credit. Check use information.
- Molecule of the MonthMolecules on this entertaining, award-winning site are contributed by scientists worldwide. Includes molecule images, explanations, some history, and uses.
- Protein Data BankA worldwide repository on the 3D structures of large biological molecules (proteins, nucleic acids, etc.). Type in your term and the results will include images.
- PubChemKey in your term: results will include images, 2D and sometimes 3D.
- WebElementsBasic information on each element includes links to images of its structure and to pictures.
- Antarctic Photo LibraryU.S. Antarctic Program's searchable, browsable photo collection includes science, polar wildlife, scenery, etc. Photos include caption information, credits, and resolution.
- Bugwood ImagesInvasive species, insects, forests, and IPM images. The focus is on species of economic concern. Funded by USDA Forest Service and developed by University of Georgia.
- Earth Science World Image BankAmerican Geological Institute provides geoscience images in a number of topic areas: environment, geology, rivers, space, weather, etc. Searchable, browsable. Check use
information - NOAA Photo LibraryNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Photo library includes U.S. coastlines, marine sanctuaries and fauna, weather, space, etc. All photos are copyright-free, but must be credited.
- Renewable Energy PIXThe National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) provides a photo gallery: PIX. From the homepage, search by text or browse photo collections by topic at the Visual Search link.
- Fritz-Metcalf Photo Collection (UC-Berkeley School of Forestry)Taken between 1910 and 1960, the 9,000 images in the Fritz-Metcalf Collection relate to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the U.S. Check "Use of Images" link for credit line.
- USGS Multimedia GalleryU.S. Geological Survey (USGS) offers photo collections that include animals, climate change, geology, water, energy and other natural resources. Includes links to USGS maps, videos, and other image collections. Each image comes with use information.
- NASA ImagesLink to NASA Multimedia leads to videos, podcasts, and more.
- CDC Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) offers images and multimedia files: from public health and environmental health to natural disasters and electron micrography. Most are free to use, but some are copyright protected. Check PHIL FAQs, Question 6.
- Gray's AnatomyIllustrations from Gray's Anatomy on all parts and systems of the body. Caveat: ads are a slight annoyance.
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)HEAL's searchable, browseable database offers "free high-quality digital materials for health sciences education." Advanced Search link lets you choose image type: photograph, MRI, etc.
- OPENiOpen-access biomedical image search engine, from National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, offers search by image type--from photos to microscopy; subsets such as ethics and basic science; a host of specialities, from biochemistry to virology; and more.
- PEIR Digital LibraryPEIR (Pathology Educational Instructional Resource) is a searchable, multidisciplinary image database for use in medical education. Check use FAQs
- NIH Photo Galleries National Institutes of HealthNational Institutes of Health (NIH) provides links to images from NIH and institutes for cancer, eyes, arthritis, environmental health, history of medicine, and others. Check use information.
- NSF Multimedia GalleryNational Science Foundation (NSF) multimedia is targeted toward news images, audio, and video. The search page allows you to choose the type of media you want. Each image comes with use information.
- Agricultural Research Service Image GalleryThis somewhat limited collection from the U.S. Department of Agriculture includes crops, insects, animals, fruits & vegetables, etc.
Science Librarian
Anna Yang
she/her/hers