- DATA / PROPERTIES
Buying guide and data information. Chemical compound search results include molecular formula, weight, CAS number, boiling & melting point, structure, prices, MSDS, etc.
Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as nylon and polyester; aluminum, cobalt, and other metals and alloys; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
- Molecule of the Month
Molecules on this entertaining, award-winning site are contributed by scientists worldwide. Includes explanations of each molecule, some history, uses, and sometimes references.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
Part of the National Institute of Standards and Technology's portal
, Chem WebBook offers data on organic and inorganic compounds and reactions: thermochemical, IR, mass, UV, visible, electronic, physical constants. Search by name, formula, CAS registry, molecular weight.
Solvents data, including sustainable solvents management.
- BRENDA - Enzyme Database
A comprehensive searchable database of enzymes, BRENDA is maintained by the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne. Scientists collect and evaluate enzyme functional data from primary sources. Links to literature citations, images, and other databases.
Free chemical database searches 26 million+ structures, by registry numbers and other identifiers, elements, text sources, properties, and a structure-drawing program. Award-winning site from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- NCBI Gateway: PubChem and more
Portal for PubChem, Structure Search, Protein, PubMed, and numerous other databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Protein Data Bank
A worldwide repository on the 3D structures of large biological molecules (proteins, nucleic acids, etc.). Searchable for sequence, structure, and function from sets derived from X-ray crystallography, NMR, electron microscopy, and more.
- Organic Syntheses
"Detailed reliable experimental methods for the synthesis of organic compounds."
Searchable database of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds. Contains records for 300+ handbooks and compilations from University of Texas - Austin. Check OSCAR
--by title, not call number--for those we have. For others, request through Link+
- ACS Green Chemistry Portal
- ChemEd DL
Chemical Education Digital Library includes a variety of digital resources and tools for teaching and learning chemistry. Supported by NSF, ACS, Journal of Chemical Education, and others.
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
Well-organized site provides wealth of information. Tabs include synthesis preparation, experimental background and setup, structure confirmation, communication--all rich with links. Plus conference and career information, and tutorials.
Well-organized site includes tutorials, lab exercises, animations, demos, data tables, and links. Besides the Chemistry module, there are modules for NMR, Environmental, and Mineralogy.
- Google Patents
Searches entire U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: 8 million patents, 3 million applications, using Google interface. Use Advanced Search to search by patent number, inventor, or filing date.
Search 8 million+ international patents by country, date, name, full text, etc. Includes Translate tab for titles and abstracts. From the World Intellectual Property Organization.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Main page provides links to search, review the patent process, file a patent, etc. Search full-text patents 1976-present; TIFF images 1790-present.
- PERIODIC TABLE
Award-winning site includes interactive periodical table, basic facts and history of each element, short videos relating to many of the elements, searchbox, and references.
- Periodic Table Downloads
Periodic-table pdfs to download: info-packed one-pagers in either color or black and white.
- Periodic Table of Videos
Via short videos, University of Nottingham scientists show and tell about each element, focusing on its use. Caveat emptor: an ad lines the bottom of each video, briefly.
Basic information and tabs that highlight each element regarding biology, geology, isotopes, structure, and more.
This EPA database provides risk information on ~1,500 chemicals used in consumer and industrial applications. Search by chemical name or CAS number. Check the User's Guide for more options.
Material Safety Data Sheets: searches by words or numbers in the company, product name, CAS, or National Supply Numbers. Among the most user-friendly MSDS sites.
- MSDS Websites - Cornell
Cornell University's vetted links to safety information plus useful guidelines.
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes ChemIDplus: search by name or registry number for information on structure, properties, and toxicity.