This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote Web" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote Web  

This guide provides tips for using EndNote Web, a tool for gathering, organizing, formating, and sharing research citations.
Last Updated: May 27, 2011 URL: http://libguides.scu.edu/endnoteweb Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

This guide provides tips for using EndNote Web, an online citation management tool. This page gives a brief outline for creating and using an EndNote account. You can use the tabs at the top of the guide to get more detailed information about using EndNote Web.

How To:


Create an Account on EndNote Web

  1. To make sure that EndNote Web knows you are affiliated with SCU, be sure register for an account while you are on campus. To register, do the following:

    1. Go to EndNote Web: http://www.myendnoteweb.com
    2. Click the Sign Up for an account link at the top of the page.
    3. Fill out the registration form with your name, email address, desired password, and other information. Be sure to choose whether to opt in or out for receiving training material and other email.
    4. Click the I Accept button indicating that you agree to the Terms and Conditions.

    Note: If you have an account on ISI Web of Knowledge (Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index) for saving searches and getting email alerts, then you can use that account with EndNote Web.

    On & Off Campus Access

    After you have registered for an account from an on campus computer, you will be able to use EndNote Web anywhere you have Internet access (on or off campus) for three months. Once every three months, be sure to login to EndNote Web using an on campus computer. This tells the service that you are still affiliated with SCU.


Add References Individually

  1. Click on the “Collect” tab, then click on “New Reference.”
  2. Select the reference type from the drop down menu (i.e., journal article).
  3. Enter the reference information and click “Save.”


Add References using Online Search

Only free databases are available for searching via the Online Search feature. These databases include PubMed (biomedical journal articles) and library catalogs. If the database requires a password, use the Import option below.

  1. From the “Collect” tab, select “Online Search.”
  2. Select the database you want to search from the menu. If you want manage your list (add or delete databases) click on "Customize this list".


Add References using Import

  1. Search a database and save citation records you want to keep to a file. For database-specific instructions about saving records, go to the EndNote Web Help link and select the "Import Formats" link under "Collect References".
  2. From the EndNote Web “Collect” tab, select “Import References.”
  3. Browse to locate the downloaded file containing the references.
  4. Select the type of file (i.e., select the import filter that corresponds to the database you used to obtain the citation records).
  5. Click the “Import” button.
  6. If you want manage your list, click on "Customize this list".

 

Add References using Direct Export

You can import references directly into your EndNote Web account from databases on the Web of Knowledge platform.

  1. Perform a search in the database.
  2. Select records you want to keep.
  3. Select the “Save to My EndNote Web” button on the right hand column.


Work with Groups

You can organize your references into Groups. To create a new Group, click on the "Organize" tab. Then click on the New Group button.  Then click on the My References tab to sort your saved references.

  1. Select “All of my references” from the left menu.
  2. Check the boxes next to the references you want to move into a specific Group.
  3. From the "Add to group…” drop down menu, select the name of the Group.


Share a Group

You can share Groups with other users, including users at other institutions. However, access to shared Group is read-only, so other users cannot modify a Group you share.

To share a Group:

  1. Click on the "Organize" tab.
  2. Click on the "Share Group" button next to the record set you want to share.
  3. Enter or update the e-mail addresses who will share the Group. Use the “Enter” or “Return” key to separate addresses.
  4. Click the “Apply” button.


Create a Stand-Alone Bibliography

You can create a formatted stand-alone bibliography with your references in EndNote Web.

  1. In EndNote Web from the “Format” tab, select “Bibliography.”
  2. Choose the references, bibliography output style and file format. If you want to export the bibliography to Word, select the RTF file format.
  3. Select an option to save, email or print the bibliography.


Need More Help?

After you log in to EndNote Web, there is a Help section that offers more information about all the features of EndNote Web. Look for the link in the top right portion of the screen.  

Digital Initiatives Librarian

Profile Image
Tom Farrell
Contact Info
408-554-5437
Send Email
 

EndNote Help

Detailed help on using EndNote Web is available online while you are logged in.

The Getting Started Guide provides an introduction to the website. This can be found by clicking on the My References tab. A link to the guide is located on the right side of the screen.

Help documentation is also available. These documents can be found from any page within EndNote Web by clicking on the Help link located in the top right corner.

 

Zotero and EndNote

Tip:  When using both Zotero and EndNote, use IE for EndNote, since Zotero is residing on your Firefox browser.

Download the Firefox plug-in for Zotero. Zotero is an open source (free) tool that lets you capture information about the screen. It is nice to use in addition to EndNote Web for databases that do not have an easy means to export (JSTOR and PubMed).

Once you have installed the Zotero plug-in, search a database and click on the icon at the right side of the address bar (see image).  When this icon is available, Zotero will save the bibliographic information to your browser.

To get the Zotero information to EndNote Web:

  • Export the Zotero information to your computer.
  • Select RIS as the export type.
  • To import the reference to EndNote, go to the RIS file that was saved to the computer.
  • Click on the file name, you will be prompted to export to either EndNote or EndNote Web.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip