Physics Web Resources
Physics Web Resources

arXiv Open Access Articles
arXiv, an open-access e-print service for the sciences, offers more
than 100,000 articles in physics. Owned by Cornell University, arXiv is
partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
AstroWeb
Maintained by the National Radio Astronomy Observatory and others of
the AstroWeb Consortium, AstroWeb provides a rich index of links and
resources: telescopes and other "observing" resources, data resources,
publication resources, organizations, research areas, software
resources.
Atomic & Molecular Data for Astronomy
The collection of databases at the website of the Harvard-Smithsonian
Center for Astrophysics includes the Chanda X-Ray Center atomic
database for X-ray plasma spectral modeling, HITRAN molecular
spectroscopy database, and others.
Directory of Open-Access Journals
DOAJ is a fast-growing collection of "free, full-text,
quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals" in a broad range
of subjects and languages. See the Institute of Physics New Journal of Physics which has one of the highest impact factors in physics.
EurekAlert!
EurekAlert!, an online news service of AAAS, the science society,
provides searchable research and awards news from universities,
journals, government agencies, corporations, and other organizations.
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: Physics Division
Entrée to Berkeley Lab's six physics sections: Electroweak Symmetry
Breaking, Dark Matter - Dark Energy, International Linear Collider
Physics, Theoretical Physics, Quark and Lepton Flavor Physics, Particle
Physics [see PDG Review of Particle Physics below].
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Lawrence Livermore pursues nuclear energy research as well as research
in nanotechnologies and in a broad range of other focused and
interdisciplinary areas. Also at the site: the journal Science & Technology.
NIST / Physical Reference Data
National Institute of Standards and Technology's (NIST) Physical
Reference Data has eight sections: 1. physical constants, 2. atomic
spectroscopic data, 3. molecular spectroscopic data, 4. ionization
data, 5. X-ray and gamma-ray data, 6. nuclear physics data, 7.
condensed matter physics data, 8. other NIST data.
NIST / Physics Laboratory
NIST's Physics Laboratory provides measurements and standards nominally
aimed at U.S. industry, but also useful to academic researchers. The
Physics Laboratory's six units:
- Electron & Optical Physics
- Atomic Physics
- Optical Technology
- Ionizing Radiation
- Time & Frequency
- Quantum Physics
PDG Review of Particle Physics
Particle Data Group (PDG), an international collaboration, reviews
particle physics and related areas of astrophysics. PDG also compiles
and analyzes data. The site includes tables, conservation laws,
educational sites and tools, and reviews.
PhysicsWeb
Includes physics news, jobs, products, symposia and other events, plus
selected articles from the site's proprietary online PhysicsWorld and
other sources.
PhysLink.com
PhysLink.com includes physics and astronomy resources for education,
research, and reference. Aimed more at undergraduates and physics
newcomers, the site includes news from national laboratories, NASA,
NIST; tables of physical constants; HEP databases; links to
professional societies and institutes; and educational resources.
SPIRES [Stanford Linear Accelerator]
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) maintains this database of
particle physics journal articles at "the first website in North
America." The site also offers news, citation statistics, and other
resources.
WebStars
These well-organized resource links from NASA's High Energy
Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) include
information on astronomy, astrobiology, astronomical images, space
programs, organizations, and educational resources.
WWW Virtual Library: Physics
The WWW Virtual Library includes the following subject areas in its
Physics component: space physics, biophysics, beam physics, nuclear
physics, laser physics, acoustics and signal processing, and plasmas.
Links lead to resources in research, glossaries, FAQs, conferences, etc.
Image Credits, left to right: NASA, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, University of Minnesota Supercomputing Institute
Science Librarian |
Michal Strutinmstrutin@scu.edu
mstrutin@scu.edu
408.551.7021
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Physics
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait