Admin Sign In 

Science Electronic Encyclopedias 

Encyclopedias and other e-references for the sciences
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.scu.edu/scienceerefs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Science E-References             Print Page
  

Quick Links

 
 

Science E-References

Online Encyclopedias & Other E-References

for the Sciences

 

 

The electronic reference books listed below cover a range of subjects and levels. To "check out" those within the netLibrary collection from off-campus, you must create a free account.

Oxford Reference Online and Gale Virtual Reference Library offer encyclopedias and dictionaries in the sciences and other disciplines. To find additional ebooks in the sciences: From the library homepage > Electronic Resources > ebooks > [enter search terms in search box]

 

Biology l Chemistry l Environment l Ethics/Issues l Medicine/Health l Physics l Science

 

Biology


Animal Sciences  2002

Biology 2002

Encyclopedia of mammals 2006

Genetics 2003

Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia  2004 [Also in Environment]

Plant sciences  2001

World of microbiology and immunology  2003

 

Chemistry


Chemistry: foundations and applications 2004

Dekker encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology  [Also in Physics and Science, General]

 

Environment


Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America  2001

Blackwell's concise encyclopedia of ecology 1999

Blackwell's concise encyclopedia of environmental management 1999

Encyclopedia of deserts 1999

Environmental encyclopedia  2003

Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia  2004 [Also in Biology]

Macmillian encyclopedia of energy 2001 [Also in Physics]

Pollution A to Z  2004

Water: science and issues 2003

The weather almanac: a reference guide to weather, climate, and related issues in the U.S. and its key cities 2004

 

Ethics/Issues


Encyclopedia of science and religion  2003

Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics  2005

Encyclopedia of bioethics 2004

Science and its times: understanding the social significance of scientific discovery  2001

Science in dispute Vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3  2002-2003

 

Medicine/Health


Drugs, alcohol, and tobacco: learning about addictive behavior  2003

Drugs and controlled substances: information for students  2003

Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior 2001

Encyclopedia of public health  2002

Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine  2005

Gale encyclopedia of cancer  2005

Gale encyclopedia of children's health: infancy through adolescence  2005

Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders  2005

Gale encyclopedia of medicine 2006

Gale encyclopedia of mental disorders  2003

Gale encyclopedia of neurological disorders 2005

Gale encyclopedia of nursing & allied health  2002

Gale encyclopedia of surgery: a guide for patients and caregivers  2004

Nutrition and well-being A to Z 2004

World of forensic science  2006

 

Physics


Building blocks of matter  2003

Dekker encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology  [Also in Chemistry and Science, General]

Macmillian encyclopedia of energy  2001 [also in Environment]

Oxford companion to cosmology  2008

Space sciences 2002

World of earth science  2003

 

Science, General


American men & women of science  2007

Dekker encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology  [Also in Chemistry and Physics]

Gale encyclopedia of science  2004

Mathematics  2002

Science of everyday things  2002

World of sports science  2007

 

Science Librarian

Profile ImageMichal Strutin
mstrutin@scu.edu



Contact Info:
mstrutin@scu.edu
408.551.7021
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Physics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait