Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Encyclopedias, etc.
Theatre History III
GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES ON THE THEATRE
International Dictionary of Theatre
This 3-volume encyclopedia is an excellent source to start with for extensive articles about all aspects of the theatre. The articles are supplemented by lengthy bibliographies of the important primary and secondary sources to turn to for further research. Volume 1 contains articles about individual plays, Volume 2 is devoted to playwrights, and Volume 3 contains articles about actors, directors, and designers.
The following reference books provide good introductory articles on many topics of interest for the study of theatre. Bibliographies of references for further study are often not included, and, when they are, they are brief and usually limited to major secondary sources of information on the topic.
- Bordman, Gerald. American Theatre: A Chronology of Comedy and DramaVolume I covers the years 1869-1914, Volume II covers 1914-1930, and Volume III covers 1930-1969.
- Hischak, Thomas. American Theatre: A Chronology of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000This volume brings Bordman's series up to the end of the 20th century.
Humanities Librarian
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu