Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Learn Remotely with the Library
Learn how we support your remote learning and research needs.
Biographical Information Sources
SOCIAL JUSTICE AND THE ARTS
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION SOURCES
Grove Art Online
This database contains the full text of Grove's Dictionary of Art, which is the largest and most comprehensive encyclopedia on the visual arts that has ever been published. It is an excellent source for finding biographical information on visual and performance artists.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Containing the full text online of articles from reference books, this database is a good place to find biographical information about authors. You can also find criticism and reviews of their works reprinted here.
Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
This online reference book contains articles on theatrical styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers.
Gale in Context: Biography
This database contains full-text articles from a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries on over 500,000 people active in many different professions, both currently and in the past. Links are also provided to additional full-text biographical information in articles from magazines, newspapers, web pages, and multimedia resources.