Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring the Information Landscape
Bursting the Filter Bubble: Find a Source Exercise
Find as least one really good source for your upcoming assignment and record information about that source.
Workshop Goals Today
Welcome! In the workshop today, you will have the opportunity to:
1. Identify and describe different types of source tools.
2. Compare the types of sources found in different search tools.
Class Slides- February 11, 2019
Allows you to search for articles from over 600 different electronic reference books and also works as a gateway to a very wide array of other information sources, including images, audio and video. It is a really excellent place to begin research with 'Topic Pages' offering authoritative overviews and a Mind Map feature to assist in narrowing and focusing research and identifying keywords for database searching.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Authoritative source of literary criticism, summarizing authors' lives and works. Includes excerpts from scholarly articles. Provides the full text of literary criticism and reviews, biographies, original works of literature, multimedia resources, and links to selected web resources on authors and their works. Covers authors from all times and places. Updated continually.
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog
Search for bibliographic records for books and e-books.
Gale Literature Criticism
The full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature. Updated continually.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
Kanopy SCU has changed its access model for Kanopy. Please click here for more information
. A streaming video service containing thousands of videos from leading producers around the world, including PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, A&E, and more. Users can create playlists & clips and embed videos into online courses.
Head of Instruction and Assessment
A-Z Database List
Browse the complete list of databases available through the SCU Library by subject, type, or vendor.