Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring the Information Landscape
Library Website Exploration
Find one database and one e-book that would be relevant to a topic you'd be interested in for your final paper. Share into GoSoapBox.
Workshop Goals Today
Welcome! In the workshop today, you will have the opportunity to:
1. Identify and describe different types of source tools.
2. Compare the types of sources found in different search tools.
3. Find and use scholarly and discipline-specific information.
Class Slides- February 13, 2019
Allows you to search for articles from over 600 different electronic reference books and also works as a gateway to a very wide array of other information sources, including images, audio and video. It is a really excellent place to begin research with 'Topic Pages' offering authoritative overviews and a Mind Map feature to assist in narrowing and focusing research and identifying keywords for database searching.
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog
SCU Library's database of print books and ebooks that we own (as well as some other physical formats like DVDs).
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
Kanopy SCU has changed its access model for Kanopy. Please click here for more information
. A streaming video service containing thousands of videos from leading producers around the world, including PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, A&E, and more. Users can create playlists & clips and embed videos into online courses.
A multidisciplinary environmental database that includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on global warming, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, green building, and more. Mostly abstracts with some full text.
Access World News Research Collection
Includes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
Head of Instruction and Assessment
A-Z Database List
Browse the complete list of databases available through the SCU Library by subject, type, or vendor.