Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2A: Ethics and Activism (Krane Winter 2021)

Browse by Subject

OneSearch may be good for getting started in interdisciplinary or lower division courses, whereas selecting and using databases specific to a particular discipline is a more effective and efficient strategy for going deeper into a particular topic.

  • E.g.: Psychology majors: using APA PsycInfo is likely to be a good strategy
  • E.g.: Business majors: using Business Source Complete is a solid choice

To locate databases specific to a discipline, select "Databases" off the Library homepage and then "Browse by Subject". There are also recommended databases listed below on this guide.

To find music dataabases, select "database" from the library home page and then "browse by subject"

Sample Search String

Keep your search words initially focused on the big ideas or concepts. Use just a few words, as illustrated below. 

Sample search in Music Index with Full Text database.

Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

There are many different databases you might use to conduct your research.  Given this is your first entry into using these in college, begin by trying out one of our multi-purpose databases. These databases have news sources, magazines, and scholarly articles. 

Tip: When you're in one of these database, look for an option to filter your results to just show "magazines" or "newspapers", for example.

Music Databases
History and Social Sciences Databases