Quick Links
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
- CaminoLink back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Web Resources for Agroecology
WEB WARNING ABCs
Authority - Is the website from an authoritative source? Check "About Us."
Bias - Is the website trying to sell you goods or an idea?
Currency - Is the information current? Check the website date
Although excellent .org, .com, .net sites exist, use the search engine's Advanced Search to get more
reliable results by limiting the domain name to .gov or .edu -- or use Google Scholar.
Web Resources for Agroecology
Educational Institutions l Government Agencies l NGOs - Local l NGOs
Certification l CSAs & Farmers Markets l Fair Trade
- SCU - The Forge GardenSCU's 1/2 acre organic garden provides a space for course research and sustainable food production, and for exploring environmental impacts and social justice of our food system.
- SCU Sustainability - Dining ServicesSCU dining services vendor provides information on the sustainability of their food items and their kitchen principles.
- SCU Food and Agribusiness Institute (FAI)FAI highlights its Hunger Issues, including its Faces of Hunger Project.
- UC-Santa Cruz Center for Agroecology and Sustainable Food SystemsA leader in sustainable agriculture, UC-Santa Cruz links to its research and trials, the free Cultivar newsletter, pdfs for gardeners on everything from apples to worms, and much more.
- UC-Davis Sustainable Agriculture ProgramUC-Davis site covers a broad spectrum of sustainable agriculture (although a few broken links). See sidebar for cover-crops database and more.
- University of Illinois Agroecology and Sustainable Agriculture ProgramAlthough much of the site is UofI focused, the Topics (upper left, lower right) offer lots of information for the following: Organics, Environment, Education.
- Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE)U.S. Dept of Agriculture's SARE site includes research and grant information; pest management, crop diversification, etc.; videos on test farms; pdf handbooks on cover crops, soil building, and others.
- USAID: Sustainable AgricultureU.S. foreign assistance site offers a brief backgrounder and a link to its Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resource Management Collaborative Research Support Program.
- USDA: Alternative Farming Systems Information CenterU.S. Dept. of Agriculture and its library offer a host of sustainable ag information: educational opportunities, alternative crops, organic production, publications, where to find research, etc.
- Health Trust - Eat WellSilicon Valley's Health Trust offers many ways to Eat Well on their site: from Fresh Carts, a program that brings fresh fruits and vegetables to neighborhoods via mobile vendors, to traditional Meals on Wheels.
- Veggielution Community FarmFocused on creating a sustainable urban food system in San Jose, Veggielution includes community-building, social justice, and education. This NGO also sells vegetable Farm Boxes (CSA), which help support its Farm Box program to low-income families.
- AgroecologyNGO site offers case studies worldwide, information on short courses and activities, and links.
- Agroecology in ActionDocuments tab has an interesting selection of articles. Links tab leads to diverse agroecology-related topics.
- Community Agroecology NetworkThis network of farmers, consumers, students, and educators, with a Latin America focus, has articles and news under Resources tab, plus information on participatory research.
- Fair Food NetworkWorks to eliminate hunger injustices, links to articles, provides backgrounds, etc. under Publications.
- U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)Among FAO's main goals are "eradication of hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition." Provides links to agriculture-related statistics, country profiles, etc.
- U.N. Food Security and Sustainable AgricultureUnder Resources, see Reports, including "The State of Food & Agriculture" report, also found at FAO.
- U.S. Food Sovereighty AllianceWorks to end poverty, rebuild local food economies, and assert democratic control over the food system. Links in the right sidebar lead to more specific information, although the site does have some broken links.
- Wild Farm Alliance (WFA)WFA "promotes agriculture that helps to protect and restore wild Nature...[through] community-based, ecologically managed farms and ranches...to accommodate the full range of native species and ecological processes."
Subject Guide
Anna Yang
she/her/hers