Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WHAT'S A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL?
Scholarly Articles can generally be found in scholarly journals. Not sure what a 'scholarly journal' is? Watch this video:
WHERE TO FIND SCHOLARLY ARTICLES?
These databases are excellent sources for finding literary criticism in scholarly articles. Note that if you are connecting from off-campus, you will be asked to enter your SCU user id and password.
GALE Literature Resource Center
Formerly Literature Resources from Gale.
Provides the full text of literary criticism and reviews, biographies, original works of literature, multimedia resources, and links to selected web resources on authors and their works. Covers authors from all times and places.
This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on all modern languages and their literatures. It is also a good place to find articles about films, especially those based upon works of literature.
Humanities Full Text
Indexes and abstracts English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, from 1984-present. The full text of many of these articles is available online from 1995 forward.
HOW TO SEARCH THE DATABASES
Searching GALE LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
If you are looking for articles on The Inheritance of Loss, by Kiran Desai, here's how you would construct your search in the GALE LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER database.
- Connect to the database by clicking on the GALE LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER link on the left
- Enter the title of the book in the "Name of Work" box
- Enter the name of the author (last name first) in the "Person-About" box
- You can also enter a keyword in the first search box to limit your search, but it's usually better to keep your search broad at the beginning
Searching MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY or HUMANITIES INDEX
- Connect to the database by clicking on the MLA BILIOGRAPHY or HUMANITIES INDEX links on the left
- To find scholarly articles about an author, type the author's surname firs (for example--Desai, Kiran) in the first search box.
- Then select "Subject Terms" from the drop-down list in the box to its right.
- To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box
- Look at your list of results. If the full-text of the article is not available in the database, click on the icon Find it at SCU. You will see if it's available in print or in another database, and if it's not, you will be able to request the article via interlibrary loan.