Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WGST 105: Food, Fun, and Friendship (Sharangpani): Scholarly Articles

How to Recognize a Scholarly Article

Videos on How to Search the Databases

Databases are published by different companies using  different search interfaces, which can make it difficult to search efficiently.  To help you get the best possible results, watch the following videos. 

ADVANCED SEARCHING IN OMNIFILE (AND ALL OTHER EBSCO DATABASES)

Watch this one before using the EBSCO databases:  Women's Resources International, LGBT full text, and Social Sciences Full-Text.

PROQUEST SOCIAL SCIENCES ADVANCED SEARCHING

Watch this one before using a  PROQUEST database: Gender Watch, or  Proquest Social Science Premier Collection. 

The Best Databases for WGST Research

To find journal articles with a feminist perspective, it's better to use specialized WGST databases, such as the first three on this list.  

Other more general or multidisciplinary databases are also recommended.

Searching Strategies

  • Before your start searching, try focusing your topic by writing a one sentence research question.  For example: 
    • How does parenting affect leisure time and activities differently for women and men?
  • Then identify the main ideas in your research question:
    • Parenting (or parents or parenthood)
    • Leisure
    • gender
  • Use an asterisk to find variations of a word.  For example, Parent*  would retrieve Parent, Parents, or Parenthood
  • Use quotes around a phrase:  "leisure time"
  • Then choose a database from the list on the left and enter your keywords in the search boxes. You should separate synonyms or related terms by the OR connector.

undefined

Getting the Full Text of Articles

  • If the database you are using has the full text of the article, just click on the link (PDF or HTML)
  • If the full-text is not available, click on the FIND IT @ SCU LIBRARIES LINK.  
  • You will be given different options to find the article, including an interlibrary loan request if the article is not available at SCU (it's a free service).