CHEM 14: Advanced Chemical Principles (Wheeler)

Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as nylon and polyester; aluminum, cobalt, and other metals and alloys; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Molecules on this entertaining, award-winning site are contributed by scientists worldwide. Includes explanations of each molecule, some history, uses, and sometimes references.

Part of the National Institute of Standards and Technology's portal, Chem WebBook offers data on organic and inorganic compounds and reactions: thermochemical, IR, mass, UV, visible, electronic, physical constants. Search by name, formula, CAS registry, molecular weight.

Buying guide and data information. Chemical compound search results include molecular formula, weight, CAS number, boiling & melting point, structure, prices, MSDS, etc.

A comprehensive searchable database of enzymes, BRENDA is maintained by the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne. Scientists collect and evaluate enzyme functional data from primary sources. Links to literature citations, images, and other databases.

Free chemical database searches 26 million+ structures, by registry numbers and other identifiers, elements, text sources, properties, and a structure-drawing program. Award-winning site from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Portal for PubChem, Structure Search, Protein, PubMed, and numerous other databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

"Detailed reliable experimental methods for the synthesis of organic compounds."

Periodic-table pdfs to download: info-packed one-pagers in either color or black and white.

Via short videos, University of Nottingham scientists show and tell about each element, focusing on its use. Caveat emptor: an ad lines the bottom of each video, briefly.

Basic information and tabs that highlight each element regarding biology, geology, isotopes, structure, and more.

This EPA database provides risk information on ~1,500 chemicals used in consumer and industrial applications. Search by chemical name or CAS number. Check the User's Guide for more options.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes ChemIDplus: search by name or registry number for information on structure, properties, and toxicity. Update: Information moved to other NLM sites...click on link above.