CHEM 133: Medicinal Chemistry (Fuller)

A comprehensive searchable database of enzymes, BRENDA is maintained by the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne. Scientists collect and evaluate enzyme functional data from primary sources. Links to literature citations, images, and other databases.

Free chemical database searches 26 million+ structures, by registry numbers and other identifiers, elements, text sources, properties, and a structure-drawing program. Award-winning site from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Portal for PubChem, Structure Search, Protein, PubMed, and numerous other databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

"Detailed reliable experimental methods for the synthesis of organic compounds."

This robust federal agency site allows searching by A-Z and by topic, such as Disease & Conditions, Environmental Health. A photo library, publications, science clips--lots of resources.

Database of bioactive drug-like small molecules, it contains 2-D structures, calculated properties (e.g. logP, Molecular Weight, Lipinski Parameters, etc.) and abstracted bioactivities (e.g. binding constants, pharmacology and ADMET data)

This EPA database provides risk information on ~1,500 chemicals used in consumer and industrial applications. Search by chemical name or CAS number. Check the User's Guide for more options.

U.S. Food & Drug Administration has tabs for Food and Food Safety, Vaccines, etc. Button icons for consumers (with links to particular populations), health professionals, researchers.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes ChemIDplus: search by name or registry number for information on structure, properties, and toxicity. Update: Information moved to other NLM sites...click on link above.

Tabs include Health Topics A-Z, Data &b Statistics, Countires A-Z, Publications, etc. Find "World Health Report" via searchbox or under Programmes tab A-Z.

The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. with a Web-based user interface that provides ready access to label information. It was developed to serve the research community and as a resource for health care providers and the public. It can be an educational and research tool for students, academics, and other professionals.

A unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains 6707 drug entries including 1436 FDA-approved small molecule drugs, 134 FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, 83 nutraceuticals and 5086 experimental drugs.

The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.

Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

The Pillbox website was developed to help quickly identify medications by their appearance and ingredients as well as exploring current and past marketed products based on information such as active and inactive ingredients, DEA schedule, and manufacturers/marketers.