Get Help 24/7
24/7 Research Help is Available
Social Sciences and Government Information Librarian
Relevant Databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts professional and scholarly psychology journals and book chapters, plus dissertations and technical reports. The coverage includes over 1300 journals in 27 languages from approximately 50 countries. 1887-present. Updated monthly.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 100 important journals in all subject areas relevant to psychology. Journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and English language journals from Hogrefe Publishing are included. Most titles are covered from volume one to the present. Citations in PsycINFO have links to the full-text in PsycARTICLES.
- APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to discover scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Some content will be freely available on the web; most will only be accessible by subscription. This restricted link allows current University students, faculty, and staff to access the full text of licensed resources to which the University subscribes. Click on the "Find it @ SCU" links to see if the University has the article through its institutional database and e-journal subscriptions.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowJCR is a resource tool for journal evaluation in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. JCR can show you the: highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, hottest journals and largest journals.
Other Psychology Search Tools
- Connected Papers
This site shows how articles are related to one another. You can enter the title of an article and then create a graph based upon references that articles share. The About page offers a good, brief explanation of how the algorithm works. You will need to create a free account to use this site.
- Open Knowledge Maps
This website allows you to search for a concept such as memory. It will then create a diagram of concepts related to the term you entered based upon common vocabulary in articles. Read the About page for further information.
- Semantic Scholar
This website includes a vast number of academic papers. It functions in a similar manner to library databases and Google Scholar for searching scholarly articles.