Research Guides: PSYC 185EL: Developmental Psychology (Bhagwat): Best Databases

Quick Links

Library Home Page
Databases, catalog, interlibrary loan, LINK+...
OSCAR - Library Catalog
Find books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
A-Z Databases
You can also browse the list by subject, type, or vendor.
Ask a Librarian
Get help from a librarian by texting, IM, email, or make an appointment.
Camino
Link back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Citation Guides
How to cite your sources in APA, MLA, Chicago styles, etc.
Google Scholar
Link to article's available through the SCU library and other sources.

Best Psychology Databases

Finding Articles on your Topic

Go to the Library Homepage https://www.scu.edu/library and click on the Databases tab.
Go to the Library's Browse by Title list or choose Psychology from the Browse by Subject drop down menu.
When searching from off-campus, you will need to input your name and password to use any library database.

Best Psychology databases are:

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Abstracts professional and scholarly psychology journals and book chapters, plus dissertations and technical reports. The coverage includes over 1300 journals in 27 languages from approximately 50 countries. 1887-present. Updated monthly.
APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the life sciences journal literature from 1980-present. Coverage is international, and includes biology, medical research, clinical studies, agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes MedLine. The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database. It includes such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environment health. 1966-present. Click here for our PubMed Quick Guide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.

Getting the Full-Text of Articles

You have 4 options for getting the full-text of an article:

1. The database you are using has the full-text article. Just click on the link (pdf version is better).

2. If not, click on FindIt@SCU Libraries:

Is the article available in another database (e.g., JSTOR, OmniFile)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (volume, issue number, date of publication, etc.)
Does the library have this journal in print? It is possible the library has the journal, but not the year you need. The print collection is mostly for journals five years old or more.

3. If none of the above work, you can request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). If another library can send the article electronically, this usually takes 1-2 business days.

Last updated on January 4, 2022