Finding Articles - SCU Databases - WGST 51: Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies - Research Guides at Santa Clara University

What is a Library Database and Why Should I Use One?

Fact Checking Resources

News Resources

These resources provide fact-checking to assess the truth of claims made in political statements, social media posts, and news coverage.

What is a Database?

A database in general is a collection of information organized to be searched by computer. On the SCU Library Website, our electronic databases are collections of articles or in-depth reports that you can retrieve online.

The library has subscriptions to both general databases (example: EbscoHost Academic Search Premier) or subject-specific databases, such as LGTBQ or Communications or Ethnic Studies, among many others. These databases usually provide full-text access to journal articles.

LGBTQ Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The Library subscribes to Module 1, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part 1, a collection of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the word), and Module 3, Sex and Sexuality 16th to 20th centuries, a collection of documents allowing scholars to examine how sexual norms and gender roles have changed over time.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. GenderWatch provides access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of three full-text databases, namely GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. GenderWatch provides access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Ethnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of the ethnic, minority and native presses as well as many journals concerned with issues of race and ethnicity, with archival material back to 1985. Alt-PressWatch includes over 1.5M articles from more than 300 small sources including unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the arts and all viewpoints across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.

Searching Tips

Use " " when searching for phrases or to retrieve results using the words in a specific order.

Example: "Gay Rights" "LGBT adoption" "LGBT parenting" "Same-sex marriage"

Use AND to

narrow your results
tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in the resulting records
example: Gay Rights AND LGBTQ AND United States

Use OR to

connect two or more similar concepts (synonyms)
broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting records
example: LGBTQ OR gay OR lesbian OR transgender OR Bisexual

Use NOT to

exclude words from your search
narrow your search, telling the database to ignore concepts that may be implied by your search terms
example: "LGBTQ events" not "gay pride"

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

WGST 51: Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies