Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Music, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
Encyclopedias about Life Writing
EARLY AMERICAN LIFE WRITING
ENCYCLOPEDIAS ABOUT LIFE WRITING
- Encyclopedia of Life Writing [ONLINE RESOURCE]The major reference work on the subject of life writing from ancient times to the present, this encyclopedia contains articles on genres and themes, contexts and criticism, regional surveys, and important writers and the significance of their works.
- Encyclopedia of Women's AutobiographyThis encyclopedia is devoted to women writing about their lives from the Middle Ages to the present, from around the world. The articles discuss individual writers, major works of autobiography, national and ethnic autobiographical traditions, specific autobiographical genres, and issues and themes related to women's autobiography.
Early American Literature and Authors
REFERENCE WORKS ABOUT EARLY AMERICAN LITERATURE
AND AUTHORS
- Oxford Handbook of Early American Literature [ONLINE RESOURCE]This major reference work on early American literature contains chapters devoted to literary genres, authors, and their works from throughout colonial America.
- American Colonial Writers, 1606-1734This reference work contains lengthy illustrated articles about the lives and works of American authors from the earlier colonial period, including several authors of autobiographical works.
- American Colonial Writers, 1735-1781This reference work contains lengthy illustrated articles about the lives and works of American authors from the later colonial period, including several authors of autobiographical works.
Encyclopedias of American Religious History
ENCYCLOPEDIAS OF AMERICAN RELIGIOUS HISTORY
The following encyclopedias are excellent sources for learning more about the religious history of early colonial America and gaining a better understanding of the context within which many autobiographies of the time were written.