Research Guides: ENGL 2A Library Orientation (Negus): Activity: Database Report

Database Report Instructions

Your group has been assigned the database below to survey.

Can you use the database to answer the question:

Answer the following questions about your database:

How did you look for the answer? What keywords did you use? Does it matter if you search or browse?
Does this database provide credible information?
Now that you've looked in one of the library databases, do you think you could equally trust finding the same answer outside of the SCU Library subscriptions?

Post answers to whiteboard using the provided Post-It notes.

Be prepared to share your insights with the rest of the class.

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
This full-text database includes over 1.5M articles from more than 300 small sources including unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the arts and all viewpoints across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Additional subscription content added October 2022. A streaming video service containing thousands of videos from leading producers around the world, including PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, A&E, and more. Users can create playlists & clips and embed videos into online courses. For more streaming video please see our guide here.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above