Databases for NON-scholarly Articles
Besides newspapers, which are covered elsewhere in this research guide, there are three databases that stand out for searching more general magazines:
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press from the late 1960s to the present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full texts, indexing, and abstracts for a variety of popular periodicals about current events, curriculum support, and popular topics/people. Updated daily.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndex of over 3 million articles from more than 550 magazines, including full-text coverage of original Readers' Guide to Periodical LIterature. Index topics range from history, American and Global culture, as well as historical developments throughout the 19th and 20th century.
The 2 Readers' Guide databases use the same search interface we used in class before, EBSCO. The other 2 use one that looks quite different. All of the same tools and capabilities are there, e.g. Find-It-@-SCU links, the ability to get a formatted citation and email yourself search results. And, you can easily get yourself 3 search boxes instead of 2.
The biggest difference is that you need to change where the database searches the words you enter. This is easy to do!
Change:
