Research Guides: HIST 11A/12A: Slavery and Unfreedom (Gudgeirsson): October 2024 Library Session

Mentimeter Slides

Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
This database provides documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world covering a time period from 1490. Topics range from varieties of slavery to the continued existence of slavery today.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window
This database provides primary source documents from archives all over the world covering the history of the slave trade from 1492-1888.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
This database provides primary sources including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence, among other documents related to Black Freedom from 1790 to 2000s.
The website highlights documents from the following time periods: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).

VOICES: Narratives by Survivors of Modern Slavery
This is the world's largest archive of modern slavery survivor narratives. Across more than a million words spoken or written by survivors of modern slavery, The database is searchable by country, name, theme, and narrative date. Narratives can be viewed in list or map form. A short introduction provides context to each narrative. Narrative provenance appears after the main narrative text.

Choose whether to look for books or articles, then try searching in OSCAR or one of the article databases linked below.

Books can contain secondary and primary source material. Use OneSearch or OSCAR to locate books SCU owns.

Formula: 2-3 keyword terms, connected with and. No complete sentences or questions. Here's an example of an advanced search:

Browse OSCAR Slavery Subject Headings
A listing of Library of Congress subject headings beginning with the word "slavery." Click the "XX additional entries" hyperlink to see all the books categorized under any specific subject heading. Click the request button on books that look good, or access ebooks online.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present, and publication dates go from the late 19th century to the present.
Historical Abstracts with full-text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world (except United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, and publication dates go from the 19th century to the present.

Peer-Reviewed Article Search
Follow this link, add one more keyword to the search box, and click search. You will be searching within all peer-reviewed journal articles under the subject heading "Slavery" in both America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts.

If your topic is on modern slavery, you will want to use a social science database.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to journals, books, conference papers, and dissertations on the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 to present.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
More than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to images and the full text of articles in back issues of selected scholarly journals related to the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
Consult the online tables of contents for the years available, as coverage varies for each title.

Example search strategy