Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - Engineering/General
In the "Databases" search box on the library home page find a database using the A-Z list (if you know the name of the database) OR use the pull-down menu--"Browse by Subject"--to obtain a list of databases in your research area.
You can also access a page giving you the entire range of electronic resources available in the library at:
Here are selected databases pertinent to finding information for this course.
Under the General and Reference database subject category:
Academic Search Complete/EbscoHost
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.
For more technical information in engineering and related fields, click on the Engineering database subject category, and try searching:
ACM Digital Library
Access to the citations and the full text of all of the articles published by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) in journals, newsletters and conference proceedings.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals. Additionally provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of academic journals, professional publications, and other sources. Has comprehensive coverage for a variety of applied science and technology specialties such as applied mathematics, energy resources & research, biomedical materials, robotics, and other sci-tech applications.
Provides access to over 17 million abstracts from Compendex (1884-present), approximately 14 million abstracts from Inspec (1896-present), and the full text of U.S. patents (1976 to present).
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL) is IEEE's complete full-text product on its Xplore platform. It is an online collection of IEEE and IEE journals and conferences--plus the IEEE standards. These publications provide 30% of the world's electrical engineering and computer science literature in a single source. There is a full-text backfile for each title to 1988, with selected titles back to 1950.