Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Home Page
Databases, catalog, interlibrary loan, LINK+...
OSCAR - Library Catalog
Find books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
A-Z Database List
You can also browse the list by subject, type, or vendor.
Ask a Librarian
Get help from a librarian by texting, IM, email, or make an appointment.
Link back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Links to articles available through the SCU library and other sources.
Finding Articles on your Topic
- Go to the Library Homepage https://www.scu.edu/library and click on the Databases tab.
- Choose either "Browse by Subject" or "Browse by Title" to get a list of databases
- If searching from off-campus, you will need to input your name and password to use any library database.
Best Health Psychology Databases Are:
PsycINFO is THE starting point for Psychology research. It includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, etc. and covers Psychology and related fields very well.
Provides access to more than 100 important journals in all relevant psychology subject areas. Most journals come from the American Psychological and the Canadian Psychological associations. The articles are indexed in PsycINFO with links to the fulltext.
Provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
Includes MedLine. The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database. It includes such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environment health. 1966-present. Click here
for our PubMed Quick Guide.
Coverage is international, and includes biology, medical research, clinical studies, etc. The databases above are probably better places to begin, but this can be useful for certain biologically or medically related topics.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Provides a rich online collection of video available for the study of psychotherapy, psychology, psychiatric counseling, and social work - 400 hours and more than 330 videos, when completed. The database includes filmed footage of actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios that arise during courses of therapy.
Getting the Full-Text of Articles
You have 4 options for getting the full-text of an article:
1. The database you are using has the full-text article. Just click on the link (pdf version is better).
2. If not, click on FindIt@SCU Libraries:
- Is the article available in another database (e.g., JSTOR, OmniFile)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (volume, issue number, date of publication, etc.)
- Does the library have this journal in print? It is possible the library has the journal, but not the year you need. The print collection is shrinking as we move toward electronic access.
3. If none of the above work, you can request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan. If another library can send the article electronically, this usually takes 1-2 business days. You will get an email with the article attached.
Last updated on September 21, 2020
Social Sciences and Government Information Librarian