Research Guides: ENVS 080: Energy and the Environment: Databases

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Catalog, databases, interlibrary loan, Link+...
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Library catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Find journals and magazines online and in print
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Ask your question by texting, IM, email, or phone

Camino
Link back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Databases for Energy and the Environment

Remember to check the references in good articles for leads to other good articles.

ENVIRONMENTAL / SCIENCE DATABASES
Engineering Village
NOTE: in Engineering Databases, other choices are ENGnetBASE.
more...less...
Access to 9.5 million+ abstracts from EI Compendex, ~7.9 million abstracts from Inspec, and full text of 1300+ CRC engineering handbooks. Links to 10,000+ expert-vetted websites. Checkbox both Compendex and Inspec.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
more...less...
This multidisciplinary database provides abstracts and references to the literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution, as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. 1981-present. Updated monthly.

Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window

Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Full texts and abstracts. Sources include refereed journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.

GENERAL DATABASES
CountryWatch
TIP: Look for Quick Links on left to select a country.
more...less...
Detailed economic, political information and news for 191 countries. Includes five years of data for key economic sectors, energy, environmental situations, etc.
OmniFile Full Text
TIP: to search only Applied Science and Technology and General Science, click Choose Databases link, checkbox the afrementioned databases and un-check OmniFile.
more...less...
Multi-disciplinary database includes general science and applied science & technology, plus social sciences, business, education, and humanities.

How to Get Articles

How to Get Articles

Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.

To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:

1. Links to full-text if we have journal online

2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print

3. Link to Interlibrary Loan & LINK+ if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.