Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WGST 12A- C&I II: Women in Transnational Perspective (Sharangpani / Lodhia): Find Articles

Best Databases to Find Scholarly Articles

The easiest way to find scholarly articles on your topic is to use a library database.

Note: If searching from off-campus, you will need to enter you SCU ID and password  to use any library database.

Some of the databases you can use for your project are listed below.  Choose the ones that seem the most relevant for your topic.  

 

Search Strategies

A few tips to help you search the databases:

  • Before you start your research, try focusing your topic by writing a one sentence research question. For example: 
    • How has globalization affected sex trafficking in Asia?

 

  • Identify the main ideas in your research question.
    • globalization
    • Asia (you can also use individual countries such as China or Thailand)
    • Sex trafficking (you can use synonyms or related terms such as "sex trade" or "sex industry")
       
  • Use an asterisk to find variations of a word, for example global*  will retrieve global and globalization
     
  • Use quotes around a phrase:  "sex trafficking"
     
  • Then, enter your keywords in the database search boxes.  Separate synonyms with  the OR connector.  
    For example: 

 

Getting the full-text of database articles:

1. If the database you are using has the full-text article, just  click on the link (pdf or htmil).

2. If the full-text is not available, click on Find It@SCU Libraries:

  • Is the article available in another database (e.g., Wilson OmniFile, JSTOR)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (e.g., volume, issue, date of publication, etc.)
  • Does the library have this journal in print? Go to the OSCAR record and request the issue you need from the ARS.
  • If the library doesn't have access to the full-text of the article, you will be offered the option of ordering it through the interlibrary loan service (which is free).