WGST 12A- C&I II: Women in Transnational Perspective (Sharangpani / Lodhia): Background Information

To get an overview of your topic from different perspectives,  or to get some background information to be able to narrow down your topic,  you can use reference sources.  Start with the following databases which provide access to  hundred of online encyclopedias and reference sources.  

GALE Virtual Reference Library

CREDO Reference

To find information and statistics on a particular country, use the following database:

• Country Watch

A good documentary could help you explore your topic.
Search KANOPY, a database of streaming videos, for relevant titles.

Below are some examples of what's available:

Mothers of Bedford: Women in Prison

Freedom for Birth: Women's Rights in Childbirth

The Illusionists: The Globalization of Beauty

Red Light, Green Light: Prostitution and Sex Trafficking

You can also consult the following specialized reference sources.  Some of these sources are now available online. The other ones are located in the reference section on the lower level of the library.

• The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Violence
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender:  Men and Women in the World's Cultures 
   (online)
• Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
• Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women:  Global Women's Issues and Knowledge.

• Women and Politics around the World: a comparative history and survey.

• The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide.

• The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide.  
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women
• The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide

• Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.

• Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa (online)

• Encyclopedia of Women in Islamic Culture

• The Women's Movement Today: an Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminist.  (with emphasis on the movement in the U.S.)
• Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice