Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 110: Quantitative Research Methods: Measurements

Research guide for students taking COMM 110

Quick Links

Measurements

It can be challenging to find the full text of tests, instruments, and measures. This is due to the fact that most well-known tests are commercial property and must be purchased. "Unpublished" tests are the ones you are much more likely to find in full text. These tests are the ones that have been published as part of a research article or in a handbook of measures.

The following resources can help you locate research measures:

Encyclopedia of Research Design (online)

Communication Research Measures:  A Sourcebook

Communication Research Measures II: A Sourcebook.  Vol 2 

Communication Research Measures (provided by Prof. James C. McCroskey, University of Alabama, Birmingham

Directory of Communication Related Mental Measures 

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures, multivolume set.

Gender Roles: a Handbook of Tests and Measures

Measures for Clinical Practice: a Sourcebook

Psychological Tests for Students' Use
(maintained by Prof. Ron Okada, Faculty of Health, York University, Toronto, Ontario)

The SAGE handbook of personality theory and assessment, Vol 2:  Personality Measurement and Testing / edited by Gregory J. Boyle, Gerald Matthews, Donald H. Saklofske.

The Nineteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook