Skip to main content

HIST11A: Across the Pacific: East Asia in Global Perspective (Hu): Scholarly Articles

Databases

To find scholarly articles on your topic, use the following databases:
 

Scholarly Journals

Scholarly Articles can generally be found in scholarly journals. Not sure what a 'scholarly journal' is? Watch this video: 

What is a primary source?

Not sure about the difference between primary and secondary sources? Watch this video:

Search Strategies

  • First select a database from the list on the left

  • Before you start your research, try focusing your topic by writing a one sentence research question. For example: 
    • What is the legacy of French colonialism in Vietnam?
  • Identify the main ideas in your research question.
    • French  (or France)
    • colonialism
    • Vietnam
  • Use an asterisk to find variations of a word, for example colonial*  will retrieve colonial  and colonialism
  • Use synonyms or related terms (colonialism or imperialism)
  • Use quotes around a phrase
  • Then, enter your keywords in the database search boxes.  Separate synonyms/related terms with  the OR connector.  
    For example: 

  • Limit your search to "Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Journals" if this optiion is available. 
     

Getting the full-text of database articles:

1. If the database you are using has the full-text article, just  click on the link (pdf or htmil).

2. If the full-text is not available, click on Find It@SCU Libraries:

  • Is the article available in another database (e.g., Wilson OmniFile, JSTOR)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (e.g., volume, issue, date of publication, etc.)
  • Does the library have this journal in print? Go to the OSCAR record and request the issue you need from the ARS.
  • If the library doesn't have access to the full-text of the article, you will be offered the option of ordering it through the interlibrary loan service (which is free).