Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Help 24/7
Our chat service is offline.
Access World News Research Collection
This is a database of full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers, as well as newswires and other miscellaneous news sources. It is easy to select the geographic region and specific news sources that you wish to search. This is an excellent source to use to find news stories about life and events in San Francisco and the Bay Area.
This database contains the full text online of articles published since 1959 in the ethnic and minority press in the United States. It includes newspapers, magazines, and journals that are regional or national in scope and is the only source for finding many publications that are not easily available otherwise. It is an excellent source for finding out what publications representing various ethnic groups in the Bay Area have to say about current events in the area.
Gale OneFile: News
This database provides full-text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, and transcripts of radio and TV broadcasts, often including links to the original broadcasts online. It is an excellent source for finding current news coverage of everyday life and events in San Francisco and the Bay Area.
This full-text database contains the text of thousands of articles from newspapers, newswires, and legal and government sources. It is also a good source for finding articles about life and events in San Francisco and the Bay Area.
You can search for articles in the most important local newspapers (the San Jose Mercury and the San Francisco Chronicle) by clicking on their names on this page on the library's web site. You can also check out regional and national coverage of Bay Area news stories in the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times by clicking on their names on this page.