Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Popular Sources
Several library databases include popular sources you might examine as a primary source. Use the following databases to search popular news sources.
The New York Times
Use this link to search the Library's subscription site (via LexisNexis Academic) to the New York Times, which reports regularly on topics related to religion. Using this link gets you access to the full-text of NYT articles that you can't get on the public NYT site.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text coverage for more than 240 newspapers and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor and The Times (London) and full text transcripts from Face the Nation, CBS Evening News with Dan Rather, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, National Public Radio, etc. Dates of coverage vary.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from more than 705 international music periodicals on all aspects of classical & popular music. 1970-present. Updated regularly.
San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of the electronic edition of record of the newspaper from 1985 to the present.
San Francisco Chronicle Archives This link opens in a new window
Full text of the San Francisco Chronicle newspaper from 1869 to 1984.
San Jose Mercury News This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of the electronic edition of record of the newspaper from 1985 to the present and full-color newspaper pages from 2020 to present. Current content also available through Mercury News (MercuryNews.com)