Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for Psychology
Finding Articles on your Topic
- Go to the Library Homepage https://www.scu.edu/library and click on the Databases tab.
- Go to the Library's Alphabetical List or choose Psychology from the Please Select a Subject drop down menu.
- If searching from off-campus, you will need to input your name and Novell password to use any library database.
Best Psychology Databases are:
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Abstracts professional and scholarly psychology journals and book chapters, plus dissertations and technical reports. The coverage includes over 1300 journals in 27 languages from approximately 50 countries. 1887-present. Updated monthly.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 100 important journals in all subject areas relevant to psychology. Journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and English language journals from Hogrefe Publishing are included. Most titles are covered from volume one to the present. Citations in PsycINFO have links to the full-text in PsycARTICLES.
APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes MedLine. The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database. It includes such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environment health. 1966-present. Click here
for our PubMed Quick Guide.
Getting the Full-Text of Articles
You have 4 options for getting the full-text of an article:
1. The database you are using has the full-text article. Just click on the link (pdf version is better).
2. If not, click on FindIt@SCU Libraries:
- Is the article available in another database (e.g., JSTOR, OmniFile)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (volume, issue number, date of publication, etc.)
- Does the library have this journal in print? It is possible the library has the journal, but not the year you need.
3. If none of the above work, you can request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan. Most articles will arrive electronically within 1-2 business days. This is a free service for SCU members.
Last updated on March 29, 2017