The easiest way to find research articles is to use a library database. The library subscribes to more than one hundred databases in various disciplines. For this particular research project you can start by the databases listed below. All of them are available via the library home page at https://www.scu.edu/library/.
- Go to the Library's Alphabetical List or use the Choose Subject drop down menu.
- If searching from off-campus, you will need to input your name and password to use any library database.
- Communication Source
The most comprehensive resource for scholars studying mass media, communication theory, linguistics, organizational communication, rhetoric & discourse, phonetics, and speech pathology. It includes the full text of more than 600 publications (academic journals, conference papers, magazines, and periodicals). Coverage goes back to 1915.
Indexes and abstracts about 40 core journals in communication.
- Women's Studies International
The ultimate women's studies resource! Includes over 540,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases. 1972-present.
Best General Databases
These databases cover a variety of disciplines, not just communications, gender studies, or women's studies.
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database good for all topics with many full text articles. Just be sure to limit your search to "Peer Reviewed" articles to eliminate from your results popular magazine articles.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Usually the most 3-5 years are not available.
OmniFile Full Text
This huge database indexes and abstracts articles from thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and other disciplines, from 1983 to the present. Full text articles are available for many of them. Limit your search to "Peer Reviewed" articles to eliminate popular magazine articles from your results.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals.
Getting the Full-Text of Articles
You have 4 options for getting the full-text of an article:
1. The database you are using has the full-text article. Just click on the link (pdf version is better).
2. If not, click on FindIt@SCU Libraries:
- Is the article available in another database (e.g., JSTOR, OmniFile)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (volume, issue number, date of publication, etc.)
- Does the library have this journal in print? It is possible the library has the journal, but not the year you need.
3. If none of the above work, you can request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan. Most articles will arrive electronically within 1-2 business days. This is a free service for SCU members.
Page created by Sophia Neuhaus on February 8, 2018