Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks: Getting Information into RefWorks

The Tool You Need:

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called the Save to RefWorks button.  The Save to RefWorks button grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library.   It can also be used to capture citations from some of the library databases (Ebsco databases, for example).

Install the SAVE TO REFWORKS button:

  1. In RefWorks, click on “Tools” in the menu bar; then select “Tools” again
  2. Click on “Install Save to Refworks”
  3. Select “Save to Refworks” and drag it to your bookmark bar.
  4.  Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to RefWorks button to capture the information.

Getting Information Into RefWorks (or How to Build Your RefWorks Database)

There are four ways to input citations (and full-text) into your RefWorks database.  Below are descriptions of each method with links to instructions or videos explaining how to do it. 

1.Migrating Your References from Another Citation Management Software (Zotero, Endnote, etc.):
If you have been using a different citation management tool, you can easily transfer your references to RefWorks.  
Instructions on how to migrate your references - see "importing references"

2. Capturing Citations  with "Save to RefWorks" Button:
This technique works best for capturing bibliographic references from the EBSCO databases and JSTOR, as well as information from web sites.  At this time, it doesn’t work with our ProQuest Databases.  First you need to download the "Save to RefWorks' button (insturctions on the left).  

3. Adding References Using "Direct Export":
This technique works well with nearly all research databases for retrieval of bibliographic references.  It also works with OSCAR and OneSEARCH, SCU online catalogs.  It does not capture full-text.    If you want to include the full-text of an article, you will need to attach it or link to it through the persistent URL.  

4. Adding References Manually:
Hopefully, this may not be “completely” manual. As you begin entering the information (author, title), there is an auto-complete feature that will check a huge database for possible matches and fill in the bibliographic data for you.  

Video: Exporting References to RefWorks

Video: Organizing References with Folders