Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks: Sharing and Collaborating

Need Help or Training?

If you want to schedule a training session or have any question, please contact your Refworks guide at SCU:

Susan Boyd
408-554-4067
skboyd@scu.edu

 

You can also contact the RefWorks Help Desk by email  (E-mail us )or telephone (1-800-521-0600 ext. 74440 or 1-734-997-4440). The support hours are:   Monday – Friday: 8:00 am – 9:00 pm Eastern Time

 

Sharing your Collections

RefWorks allows for sharing outside your institution as well as inside, however, each person you share your collection (or folder) with will need a RefWorks account in order to view your research .

  1. Click the Share & Export icon RefWorks Share & Export icon. or the Sharing menu item to start
RefWorks screenshot with an arrow pointing to the Share & Export icon.
  1. Select the collection to be shared and the groups with whom you will share it.

RefWorks Sharing Settings screenshot.

  1. Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting:
    • Read – view items and read documents
    • Annotate – view items, read documents, and annotate documents
    • Modify – view/read/annotate documents, edit existing annotations, add documents, remove documents, and add a note to an item

RefWorks Sharing Settings screenshot.

  1. Optionally, add a personal note
  2. Click Share Collection

The person you've invited will get an email notification, and a notification inside RefWorks, where they can accept (or reject) the invitation. If the person doesn’t have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

Remember, when you share a collection any sub-collections are also shared.

 

Viewing a collection's sharing status

To view what collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.

RefWorks screenshot showing the sharing icon next to a folder.

By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.

RefWorks screenshot showing the Sharing Settings under the folder menu.

In the Sharing Settings you can also:

  • change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection)
  • change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone
  • remove individuals from your collection by clicking the 'x' to the right of each address in the list

RefWorks Sharing Settings screenshot.