Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks , guides, etc. can be found on the first floor and lower level reference shelves. These reference tools and others help define terminology and provide a context for the subject area. Background reading can help you choose a specific topic to pursue for your research. Reference materials are for library use only and cannot be checked out.
To search Reference Books only, Go to the OSCAR Advanced Search page.
Type in your search terms in the boxes provided. In the box called "Optional Search Limits/Sorts," under Location--select University Library Reference Collection. Do your search.
There is also a collection of searchable electronic reference books in the ENGnetBASE database:
Includes the full text of 2,300+ CRC Press engineering handbooks. You will need a PDF 1.6 compatible viewer (e.g, Adobe Reader) to access these files.
Free Electronic References
Online general dictionary.
Free Online Dictionary of Computing (FODC)
Includes acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, and history.
Defines computer and internet terms.
Get the scoop on 2,000 tech topics.
Subjects: Applied Mathematics
, Civil Engineering
, Computer Engineering
, Computer Science
, Electrical Engineering
, Engineering Management
, Mathematics & Computer Science
, Mechanical Engineering