Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Google to Find Sources
Google can be a great source for finding information about the context/history of your topic and current data and statistics:
1. Search using keywords you identified.
2. To find context and current data and statistics, try the following:
- Your keyword and "data" or "reports"
- Your keyword and "history"
3. Be sure to visit the "about" page to investigate the publisher or organization:
- What is the publisher or organization's position or purpose?
- Is there potential bias?
- Are there sources with an alternate viewpoint?
Complete Source Worksheet
Using these search options, identify three sources related to your topic and complete the source worksheet:
Use Databases to Find Sources
Some recommended library databases include:
Ethnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.
This database will lead you to articles from more than 3,000 professional and scholarly education journals and magazines as well as some books and conference papers. The vast majority of sources are in English, but other countries and languages are represented. Dates of coverage vary wildly, but you could find something from as far back as 1929.
ProQuest Education Journals
Proquest Education Journals indexes articles from over 1000 professional and scholarly education journals and magazines. About half include fulltext of the articles. Most titles are covered back to the 1990s, but there are articles back to the 1930s even. In addition to journal articles, education newspapers, newswires, conference papers and dissertations are included. Although it is overwhelming English-language material, some major journals in other languages are represented.
Social Science Databases
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.