ENGL 1A: Education and Identity (Tarnoff): Class Resources- November 4, 2022

Use these links for class activities:

• BEAM Padlet (9:15 class)
• BEAM Padlet (10:30 class)

            Brainstorm BEAM sources for your group topic

• Class Worksheet- BEAM Your Topic

  Complete this worksheet and share your topic and two sources you found.

• “20 Protest Songs Written about the Latinx Struggle” (Hiplatina)

• Stephanie Jiménez, “Exploring Chicano Identity Through Music” 

• Ed Masley, “25 Songs of Social Justice, Freedom, and Civil Rights”

• Wikipedia

  Wikipedia is an online encyclopedia and can be a useful source for background information. Because it is open to any author(s), quality can vary depending on the topic.

• All Music

  AllMusic is a resource for finding out more about albums, bands, musicians and songs. Search by artist or song.

• Genius

  Genius is an online encyclopedia featuring lyrics annotated by community members and verified by editors.

• WhoSampled

  WhoSampled contains a comprehensive, detailed and accurate database of samples, cover songs and remixes.

• Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window

  Indexes articles from more than 705 international music periodicals on all aspects of classical & popular music. 1970-present. Updated regularly.

• Music Online This link opens in a new window

  A comprehensive online resource that cross-searches and gives access to nearly 8 million music tracks in the following streaming music databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Updated continuously.

• Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window

  Formerly Grove Music Online
  An online encyclopedia of music, containing the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), as well as other Grove Dictionaries of Music and music reference works from Oxford University Press. Updated continuously.