Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Recognize a Scholarly Journal
Sample List of WGST Journals
A few of the major WGST Journals:
Gender & Society
Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies
Journal of Women's History
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Women's Studies Quarterly
Feminist Media Studies
Journal of the Motherhood Initiative
The Best Databases for WGST Research
To find journal articles with a feminist perspective, it's better to use specialized WGST databases, such as the first three on this list.
Other more general or multidisciplinary databases are also recommended.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
The ultimate women's studies resource! Includes over 540,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases. 1972-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. GenderWatch provides access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.
- Before your start searching, try focusing your topic by writing a one sentence research question. For example:
- What's the impact of microaggressions against women in the workplace?
- Then identify the main ideas in your research question:
- Workplace or Employment
- Women or Gender
- Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. For example, Work would retrieve Workplace as well as Work.
- Use quotes around a phrase: "glass ceiling"
- Then choose a database from the list on the left and enter your keywords in the search boxes. You should separate synonyms or related terms by the OR connector.
Getting the Full Text of Articles
- If the database you are using has the full text of the article, just click on the link (PDF or HTML)
- If the full-text is not available, click on the FIND IT @ SCU LIBRARIES LINK.
- You will be given different options to find the article, including an interlibrary loan request if the article is not available at SCU (it's a free service).