Quick Links
-
Library Home PageDatabases, catalog, interlibrary loan, LINK+...
-
OSCAR - Library CatalogFind books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
-
A-Z DatabasesYou can also browse the list by subject, type, or vendor.
-
Ask a LibrarianGet help from a librarian by texting, IM, email, or make an appointment.
-
CaminoLink back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
-
Google ScholarLinks to articles available through the SCU library and other sources.
Best Databases
Finding Articles on your Topic
- Go to the Library homepage https://www.scu.edu/library/ and click on the "Databases" tab.
- Choose Browse by Subject or Browse by Title
- If searching from off-campus, you will need to login to access library databases.
Best Psychology Databases Are:
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts professional and scholarly psychology journals and book chapters, plus dissertations and technical reports. The coverage includes over 1300 journals in 27 languages from approximately 50 countries. 1887-present. Updated monthly.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 100 important journals in all subject areas relevant to psychology. Journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and English language journals from Hogrefe Publishing are included. Most titles are covered from volume one to the present. Citations in PsycINFO have links to the full-text in PsycARTICLES.
- APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
Getting the Full-Text of Articles
You have 4 options for getting the full-text of an article:
1. The database you are using has the full-text article. Just click on the link (pdf version is better).
2. If not, click on FindIt@SCU Libraries:
- Is the article available in another database (e.g., JSTOR, OmniFile)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (volume, issue number, date of publication, etc.)
- Does the library have this journal in print? It is possible the library has the journal, but not the year you need. The print collection is shrinking as we move toward electronic access.
3. If none of the above work, you can request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan. If another library can send the article electronically, this usually takes 1-2 business days. You will get an email with the article attached.
Page updated on September 16, 2020.
