Engineering Database Guides
For assistance with using other engineering databases (besides those listed below), click on the "Help" function in the database, or click on "Ask a Librarian" in the box on the left side of this page.
Note: After using the database assistance on this guide, DO NOT connect to any of the databases via these public pages. Go to the library's home page, and then access the database.
- ACM Digital LibraryHow do I find what I'm looking for?
- Proquest User GuideThe engineering databases currently provided by Proquest are: Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, and Environment Sciences and Pollution Management database which searches Environmental Engineering Abstracts, EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements, Health and Safety Science Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, and Water Resources Abstracts.
ACM
The ACM Digital Library contains bibliographic information and the full-text of articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, magazines, and conference proceedings. Tables of contents from journals and magazines are available from issues dated 1954+. Tables of contents from conference proceedings are available since 1970. Tables of contents for ACM Newsletters published since 1985 are provided.
If you already have the title of the journal/magazine or conference proceedings, proceed to the search box for each type of material by clicking on it in the right-hand “browse the digital library” category.
If you are not certain of the type of material or the author, use basic "Search: The ACM Digital Library" box on the main page. Check with a librarian if your search is more complex than what the basic search will accomplish.
IEEE Xplore
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) is IEEE's complete full-text product on its Xplore platform. It is an online collection of IEEE and IET journals and conferences--plus the IEEE standards. These publications provide 30% of the world's electrical engineering and computer science literature in a single source. There is a full-text backfile for each title to 1988, with selected titles back to 1950.
It is good practice to log out when you are finished using IEEE Xplore. Logging out keeps others from gaining access to your login while your account is still active. The database also allows a limited number of simultaneous users. Accounts will close after 20 minutes of non-use.
