Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources below provide demographic, economic, market and social background data and analysis for your country. If you have questions about these resources, or any questions about SCU Library resources and services, or if you would like help finding information, statistics, data or analysis for your business related research, please contact me.
How to get industry, and economic and consumer data. For help, click on the HELP tab on top menu bar.
1. Click on Search (blue tab on left of top menu bar)
2. Click GO next to Search Full Tree
3. Select INDUSTRIES
4. Select ECONOMIC AND CONSUMER TOPICS
5. After selecting industries and economic and consumer topics, click on NEXT (blue tab, bottom right of screen)
5. Under GEOGRAPHIES, use the + signs next to regions to drill down to your country(ies)
Click on Intelligence Zone on top menu bar, then look at both Country Reviews and Country Briefings. If you wish, look at the other
WORLD FACTBOOK (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Use the "Please select a country to view" drop down menu to select your country. Provides country background data, primarily statistical, on the economy, people and society, communications, transportation and more. Data is updated weekly.
Country Commercial Guides (Export.gov)
Use the regional drop down menus under Pick A Guide to select your country. These Guides help U.S. companies plan, develop and execute international sales strategies necessary to succeed in today's global marketplace. Developed by international trade specialists and economists, here you will find trusted market intelligence, practical advice and business tools to help you understand how to export, connect with foreign buyers, and expand operations in new markets.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
Access World News Research Collection
Includes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
Access to thousands of full-text business publications including newspapers, newswires, journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes company and financial information.
Mergent Online includes public company profiles, including company overview, financial statements, stock information, SEC Reports, news headlines, annual reports, tear sheets, and competitor/industry analysis. Also includes Investext which provides investment research reports on companies and industries prepared by analysts at investment banks, brokerage firms and independent research companies. Investext can be found as a tab within the Mergent Online platform. Dates of coverage vary.
Anthropology, Business and Economics Librarian