Ice-Breaker
Answer the following question
Are we at an advantage being SCU students if we want to find the answer to the question:
Is using social media for over five hours a day damaging to your health?
Why would we or wouldn't we be at an advantage?
Share your answer here (1020a) RESULTS
Workshop Goals Today
Welcome! In the workshop today, you will have the opportunity to:
- Explore library databases that provide you with peer-reviewed (academic/scholarly) articles and other credible sources
- Practice answering a research question using library databases, and gauging the encountered sources for relevance and credibility
- Select and evaluate an article for your upcoming assignment.
It's Critical: Access Peer Reviewed Information Through the Library
Library-provided databases are part of that 90% of information found only in the deep web.
The SCU Library subscribes to hundreds of these databases that are hidden in the deep web.
You have three options to access these databases:
-
Use the library's website to access the list of databases and select one to enter and search within (see image below indicating where to navigate)
-
Click the direct link to the databases page to access the list and pick one
-
Use the curated list of databases on this research guide's articles tab to pick a database, enter it, and search
The Internet's Own Boy
Clips from The Internet's Own Boy:
The Story of Aaron Swartz (2014)
Search Strategies in Action
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
How could you search this database?
Example 1:
Example 2:
Example 3:
